WhatsApp is now working on a new feature for its iPhone users pand is reportedly testing “view once” photos and videos feature for its iOS app. The feature, inspired by Snapchat, lets users see photos and videos only once and then it gets ‘deleted’ on its own. As per a report by WABetaInfo, WhatsApp is finally offering this to iOS beta users with the new app version–188.8.131.52. The “view once” feature was already made available to Android beta users of WhatsApp earlier.
While this feature may sound interesting, note that the person to whom you are sending the photos or videos can always save them by taking a screenshot. WhatsApp doesn’t prevent users from taking screenshots nor does it notify users when the receiver of the message has taken a screenshot.
After you send a photo or video to someone, it will automatically disappear from your phone and the receiver’s phone the moment it is opened once. You will get a notification the moment the person has seen the content and will get a message “Opened”.
Meanwhile, WhatsApp may soon allow its users to send high-resolution images. Users will get the option to select the quality of the photo that they want to share and you will no longer have to be content with compressed images. There will be three options: Auto, Best Quality and Data saver.
‘Auto’ will be recommended by default. The ‘best quality’ will be the high-resolution support that according to the screenshot will send a larger file size and may take longer to send. Lastly, there will also be a ‘data saver’ that will compress images before sending them.